The Flat Stanley Effect…..

Sometimes I travel with my dolls and take pictures for my blog. Last summer I went to Maine with Lottie and did this same thing. I call this the Flat Stanley Effect. You know Flat Stanley, the little template you print out and color, then send to your relatives who take pictures of him and then send him back!  I’m going to give you a little Flat Stanley Effect 101 now.

Ok, so the first step is to find a toy/doll/figure that fits where you will be traveling. When I went to Maine, beforehand I bought the Light House Keeper Lottie for $19.95 because she fit the theme. Lottie’s are easy because they’re small. I carried her around in a bag during my journey. You can buy lots of cute items for your Lottie doll like clothes, accessories, and even pets!

image

I picked up this cute tiger figure when I went to the zoo today. I didn’t even have to travel very far to be able to do this for my blog. The figure fits in the palm of my hand and my pocket. Please note that all these pictures were taken by a phone to show how easy it is to do the “Flat Stanley Effect”.

image

You don’t need to take pictures of every single thing either. My tiger (help me pick out a name for him by commenting it bellow) is sitting on a gorilla statue. Is it a necessary photo to show where I traveled? No, but get the fun, or funny pictures too!

image

Show connections to the theme your toy is/is from. Your toy can talk (or write I guess?), like Lottie, but if it is an animal like mine it may not.

Grrrrrrrrrr………….

Ok, maybe your animal will talk, but make sure it’s in a different color/font to show it’s a different person/animal/creature than yourself.

image

Lil’ Tiger meets big Tiger!!!!

image

Your toy can react with other people or other toys:

Hey Big Tiger!!!

Hey Lil’ Tiger!!!

image

Show cool photography! (There’s a Tiger hiding in this one, see if you can spot him!)

image

Make connections to your blog’s theme. The Ocelot was hiding in this one, but they are similar to the Margay cat who you can purchase for your American Girl Doll.

image

Another fun pic is my tiger riding the carousal on my favorite animal, the Red Panda.

Here are some other animals I saw. Your toy doesn’t have to be in every shot.

image

And here he is driving home!!!

Comment bellow names for my Tiger figure!!!

6 thoughts on “The Flat Stanley Effect…..

  1. Eileen April 7, 2016 / 1:04 am

    I remember Flat Stanley and his adventures. How cute!

    Like

  2. Anika April 7, 2016 / 12:17 pm

    You should name the tiger….. Whiskers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

